The Olio Folio

Books Reviewed

Singing Boy By: Dennis McFarland

An interesting story about the different ways people deal with personal grief.  A boy and his mother deal with the death of his father and her husband.  Throw into the mix the best friend and it makes for an interesting story.  Sarah, the mom, retreats into her own world while leaving Harry, her son, to get by on his own.  Neither know how to deal with this overpowering feeling.  It is an intriguing look into the intricacies of grief and sorrow.  It is not the best book I have ever read, but, I found many similarities in my own grieving process.  I think it is a good book to let people know that everyone must deal with this in their own manner despite all the suggestions they are given by other family, friends, and others who cross our path.  I give this book ***.  Submitted by: Artful4mysoul

December 18, 2008 Posted by | Fiction/Literature, grief issues | Leave a comment